PDA

View Full Version : Salt the Path

Sir J-Werk
01-10-08, 9:53 pm
We have been getting some crazy ass weather here in Northwest Missouri in the last couple of months. Ice storms, snow storms, etc.... Nothing that we haven't been through before but just more than most have been use to in a while. It's been a pretty hectic start to the winter season, no doubt about it.

I have been a security officer at a state forensic hospital for a little over two years now. There is a walkway, a path if you will, that leads from the main building that I work in that takes you down to 6 cottages and then loops back around and comes right back to the main building. I just received a phone call about 45 minutes ago from the nurse manager telling me that the walkway has ice on it and that she almost fell coming back up to the building.

I'm thinking to myself at that point, "Jesus Christ! I just walked down there an hour ago and there was nothing. It was clear!"

Now, in all honestly, common sense does not run rampant in this place and there have been many an employee cry "WOLF" over a patch of ice that if you take just one step in either direction you can avoid it completely. But nonetheless I grabbed my coat and a bag of rock salt and headed down the path. Sure enough, reflecting against the glow of the light poles were scattered patches of ice that had flowed over the walkway. And as I walked from ice patch to ice patch I realized how much this relected my own Journey.

I've slipped.... Didn't even see it coming either. When I started this Journey a year ago I could tell you where I was headed and I could show the direction I was going. Absolutely nothing was going to stop me, nothing. I had a clear vision, a clear path.... And then the weather changed. Not in a literal way as in accumulation of rain or ice or snow but in an inward, personal way.