PDA

View Full Version : Protein Intake: How Much?

GJN5002
02-12-08, 8:05 pm
Just got done reading an article suggesting 1.2-1.6g of protein per kg you weigh (take your weight in lbs divided by 2.2). That means that most of us who are eating way over 200 grams at a weight of about 200 lbs are eating way too much. Its says eating too much protein can supress protein synthesis and make protein uptake less efficient. Article cites the journal of strenght conditioning as the source. Im no scientist but it makes some sense but im curently pounding down about 250g a day at 195lbs. Anybody else read anything about this or have any knoweldge to share?

rocky36
02-12-08, 8:39 pm
Just got done reading an article suggesting 1.2-1.6g of protein per kg you weigh (take your weight in lbs divided by 2.2). That means that most of us who are eating way over 200 grams at a weight of about 200 lbs are eating way too much. Its says eating too much protein can supress protein synthesis and make protein uptake less efficient. Article cites the journal of strenght conditioning as the source. Im no scientist but it makes some sense but im curently pounding down about 250g a day at 195lbs. Anybody else read anything about this or have any knoweldge to share?

im no expert by any means but what i do kno is this.

1. i personally aim for 1.5 - 2.0 grams of protein per pound
2. im 205 and i avg. an intake of 400 grams of protein.
3. i see no negitive side effects of my intake yet.
4. i am assuming its pretty safe to say that as long as you active enough daily to breakdown the muscels, then a high amount of protein would be fine,
5. dont forget the sleep factor as well. no sleep = no gains

idk if that helps any but thats my 2 cents

pmug0000
02-12-08, 9:58 pm
I'm really not too worried about protein intake. I weigh 160lbs, and get nearly 350g protein per day. I'm having no kidney problems, I'm healthy, I feel good...