PDA

View Full Version : Try Again Newbie ?

cubby
10-15-08, 2:29 pm
So I've been lurking for awhile and I have picked up so much information I can't thank you all enough. Everything I have learned is priceless but now I have a question. Let me give you some background... I am 22 around 5'10 165 pretty cut with around 8%BF. I work as a firefighter so I focus on traditional lifting as well as functional circuit training to help me with my job. (about 3 years religious workouts) I am looking to put on some weight (yes I know eat eat eat and believe me I try) but more importantly I feel as though I have hit a ceiling when it comes to strength gains. What I am looking for is any feedback as to what I should be taking for supplements. I have read as much as I can but I am stuck with one area.

Here's the background. I take Animal Pak every morning with breakfast. I eat around 6-8 meals a day I eat clean...very clean (3 solid meals and then supplemented with shakes and snacks especially at work). Now here's the question. I take Shock Therapy Pre-workout, and then have a protein shake and creatine tabs postworkout. Should I add in EAA and intra-aid during the workout along with adding nitro post workout or should I just stick with the EAA and intra-aid to start? Also would it be more beneficial to do the straight up whey protein with breakfast and before bed and take torrent post workout? I know that these are questions that have been asked many times but I am looking for what you guys would think would be best for a beginner. Sorry for the trouble bros and I thank you in advance.

shizz702
10-15-08, 2:31 pm
What's your current workout routine? You want to gain strength? Supplements can only do so much, and to be honest they won't do anything if you're eating, rest, and training aren't on point.

cubby
10-15-08, 2:45 pm
Sorry should have been more specific my bad.
For traditional lifting the split looks like this.
Chest/Tris
Back/Bis
Shoulders/Legs