PDA

View Full Version : No microwave at work! Lunch ideas?

Against The Grain
01-10-09, 3:50 pm
I am an electrician an we do not have access to a microwave at work. Anyone have creative lunch ideas. What about food safety? Can i take cold chicken?...............

Pizzalamp
01-10-09, 3:52 pm
i bring a portable cooler w/ me that has ice packs in it

or u can get canned chicken or the tuna packs

sanga
01-10-09, 4:23 pm
I take cold steak cut into cube and have salad or spinach leaves with it or cold cooked rice.

Same can be done with any meat or fish.

Cstlfx
01-10-09, 4:26 pm
Sandwiches!! They also sell packs of tuna (no draining necessary), vacuum sealed chicken breast, and tuna filets. You could eat cold chicken breasts, as long as they're cooked, theres nothing wrong with that.

T o m m Y
01-10-09, 6:31 pm
i cook chicken and steak on my foreman in the morning and throw that shit in a thermous..

TigerAce01
01-10-09, 6:49 pm
Do what Ox does and just get yourself some glassware and eat your food cold. As long as it's cooked and sealed up in a ziplock or glassware (or any Tupperware container), you're good to go.

My favorite cold meats are steak and chicken, and favorite cold carbs are rice, mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes.

MELTDOWN
01-10-09, 7:32 pm
"back in the day" (82-86) when i helped my dad build houses, we would pack pre cooked food and keep in a cooler until lunch. we had an aluminum plate we kept in the truck, and at lunch, crank the truck, let the engine warm up with the alum. plate on it, then put the food, wrapped in foil, on it to warm. it never got piping hot, but suitably warm. backwoods bbq

born0withno0soul
01-10-09, 7:35 pm
if it isnt frozen you can eat it

TigerAce01
01-10-09, 8:29 pm