PDA

View Full Version : Bulking leg workout

UzbeKodiak
02-28-09, 10:26 am
Hey please critique my leg routine.

Im doing legs thrice a week exclusively (without working other parts) to bring em up; mon, wed, fri.

fairly short workouts each session, exercises in this order:

leg press calve raise - 2x15 warmup
- 6x6

SLDL's - 1x15 warmup
- 4x6

lying hamstring curls - 1x15 warmup
- 4x6

leg extensions - 2x15 warmup
squats - 4x6
leg extensions - 4x6

I'm not too worried about the calves work. I read about how one shouldnt be working a major bodypart like the legs more than once or twice a week. Then also there is the 'give it 48 hours between sessions' rule. well i do 4 working sets for each exercise, increasing rep range from 6 to 12 before upping the weight, ie eg. mon 4x6, wed 4x8, fri 4x10 so on and so forth.

I'm pretty new to this new routine so pls let me know if i should decrease the working sets. ive not felt like ive overtrained thus far, but tell me if im doing something horribly wrong. cheers!

Pizzalamp
02-28-09, 12:24 pm
its not something i would want to do
i dont like the 1 set warm up for stiff legs...seems like a great risk for injury to the ham w/out sufficient warm ups
also i would want to do my quad work at the beginning so i have the energy for it...i wouldnt be able to give my quads enough effort if im tired from all the other stuff
also i wouldnt want to skip the rest of my body during the week

Hey please critique my leg routine.

Im doing legs thrice a week exclusively (without working other parts) to bring em up; mon, wed, fri.

fairly short workouts each session, exercises in this order:

leg press calve raise - 2x15 warmup
- 6x6

SLDL's - 1x15 warmup
- 4x6

lying hamstring curls - 1x15 warmup
- 4x6

leg extensions - 2x15 warmup
squats - 4x6
leg extensions - 4x6