PDA

View Full Version : First Post...Bulking Question!

CDUB23
03-10-09, 10:37 am
Hello,

This is my first post, how is everyone doing?

I have been training for a few years on and off. This past year I got pretty serious about it, and have packed on about 35-40 pounds. Right now I am at 6'1, 197 pounds...I have been at this wall for a couple of months now so i decided to switch to the 5x5, start some creatine, and just change things up a little bit. My current issue is that I am only getting about 3000-3500 calories a day.

I know this is not quite cutting it. With my current diet, I am getting a good amount of protein/carbs with the normal stuff (lean meat, chicken, fish, peanut butter, milk, whole grain bread, potatos, sweet potatos, some veggies/fruit, protein shake, protein bar, etc, etc)

I think based on my current diet, I can afford to add a little bit of fat (preferably not saturated).

I guess my biggest question is, what bulking foods do you guys add in that are high in calories when you are not too worried about the fat content? Obviously I want to stay away from saturated, but I want to add in another 500-700 calories a day of something that has some good protein/fat. I already get a sufficient amount of peanut butter too so i was looking for something else.

My current diet is pretty bland in that I eat the same foods week in and week out with 1 maybe 2 cheat meals max a week. I have read over a good deal of posts on here, and generally see the same suggestions in terms of recipes and eating.

One additional question....When you guys are bulking, do you worry much about sodium? I was looking at wendys chili, and that seems high in protein, a bit high in fat, but super high in sodium.

Any ideas? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Littlefry
03-10-09, 12:49 pm