PDA

View Full Version : Football. Workout?

Sidle
03-12-09, 6:09 pm
Hey.
I am playing football at college next year,
but that's not the main reason I'm posting.
I was wondering if someone could give me a good workout to use.
I like doing:
Chest/Tri's. (Bench.)
Back/Bi's. (Deadlift.)
Shoulders/Traps. (Military Press/Cleans.)
Legs/Forearms. (Squats.)

I was wondering if anyone could hook me up with a workout.
I'm not a begginer,
but I'm also not an expert.

rev8ball
03-12-09, 6:18 pm
What are your long term/short term goals? Do you want the training to deal with your position?

NEW B
03-12-09, 9:00 pm
thw weight room is important but do NOT over look cardio. trainning camp will suck if you over look this. if you dont you might not be the faster stronger guy but you will have the edge. Show up to camp in shape dont get in shape at camp. the coachs will see this and it will show in your performance more then being 2 tenths faster or being able to deadlift more weight.

shizz702
03-12-09, 9:19 pm
This in my opinion, is not only the best routine one could do for football training, but for general strength training as well:
http://startingstrength.wikia.com/wiki/Bill_Starr_5x5#Madcow_Intermediate_5x5

Be sure to do the power cleans instead of the rows since explosiveness is vital for sport.

Sidle
03-12-09, 9:51 pm
In all honestly,
I want to be in BB shape,
not football shape.
I know this will affect my performance,
but what is football going to do for me in the long run?
I want to pack on weight now,
so maybe in 10 years I can look great.
I've tried a 5x5 Madcow workout,
and it only worked for a short time.
And there is no fucking way im doing Deadlift/Squat the same day.
If you go hard, that's impossible.
One will be laggin.

Alk
03-12-09, 10:19 pm

It pays for your tuition for the next half of a decade?