PDA

View Full Version : Bench Grip

Seaseldiesel
04-08-09, 3:29 pm
When you bench, where exactly should you put your hands? My football coach tells me to keep it closer so you don't put strain on my shoulders, but my buddies have been telling me to widen my grip because my arms are really long. I have a very low bench for my size and i have been lifting for a year (but lifting seriously for only about 6 months), and they think my bench is staying low because they think i'm working my triceps more than actually working my chest when i bench cause my grip's too close.

Not like close-grip close... like about a few inches further than close grip.

any ideas? i'm desperate to increase my bench and anything that could help at all would be great.

C.Coronato
04-08-09, 3:40 pm
Find where is comfortable for you. Most guys use the rings on the bar for their pinkies. But just move it around to see where you feel it in you chest the most.

TigerAce01
04-08-09, 3:45 pm
Find where is comfortable for you. Most guys use the rings on the bar for their pinkies. But just move it around to see where you feel it in you chest the most.

x2

When you look at my bench grip, it's closer than mid grip, but further apart than close grip. A lot of people find my style weird, but it's what works best for me.

-Ace

Cstlfx
04-08-09, 3:46 pm
Find whats comfortable for you. Also, it depends on your goals. Keeping it really close uses a lot of tri's. The wider you go makes it "easier" to bench because it makes your ROM shorter.

If you're going for power, keep it wide. If you're building, keep switching the grip.

mcbeast
04-08-09, 3:46 pm
Fall on the floor and do a pushup.Where do your hands land? Push from there.

Personally my hands are placed about 1 1/2 hands over from my cgb.Thats cause of my shoulder probably tho..

fenix237
04-08-09, 4:13 pm