PDA

View Full Version : Training 1 week out from a meet...?'s

04-26-09, 5:37 pm
Do any of you PL veterans have any tips as far as training goes 1 week out from a meet? My meet is on 9May and I was going to have my last week's training look like this.....

Fri. 1 May... Last ME squat day(Warm up, Openerx2, MAYBE 3rd attempt weightx1)

Sat. 2 May... Last ME Dead Day (Same as above)
Sun. 3 May.. Last ME Bench day (same as above)

Rest the rest of the week....

Does this look right? All comments/suggestions are welcome as I'm a PL newb and this is my first full power meet. Thanks.

Phil

brays3440
04-26-09, 11:20 pm
doesnt look to bad, make sure you give yourself as close to 7 days rest from heavy lifting as you can, and if I were you I'd probably only work up to my opener, maybe if you dont feel like 1 set is enough do 2 sets of 1

04-27-09, 1:36 pm
doesnt look to bad, make sure you give yourself as close to 7 days rest from heavy lifting as you can, and if I were you I'd probably only work up to my opener, maybe if you dont feel like 1 set is enough do 2 sets of 1

Yeah, I've had quite a few other's say that as well so I think that's what I'll do. Thanks bro.

IRBS
04-27-09, 4:26 pm
Do any of you PL veterans have any tips as far as training goes 1 week out from a meet? My meet is on 9May and I was going to have my last week's training look like this.....

Fri. 1 May... Last ME squat day(Warm up, Openerx2, MAYBE 3rd attempt weightx1)

Sat. 2 May... Last ME Dead Day (Same as above)
Sun. 3 May.. Last ME Bench day (same as above)

Rest the rest of the week....

Does this look right? All comments/suggestions are welcome as I'm a PL newb and this is my first full power meet. Thanks.

Phil

Deadlift Opener 12-14 Days out
Squat Opener 10 Days out
Bench Opener 7 Days out
Rest till the meet

Assistance work should be fairly easy at this point. I back off my heavy assistance work about 2.5 weeks out and then just rest and recover and cruise into the meet.

BigChrisF