PDA

View Full Version : How do you guys afford to be an IFBB Pro

GLHF
05-03-09, 11:37 pm
I was just doing some thinking and I was calculating all the stuff that I need right now. First off i wana start with that im on 16, 205 at 15% and ive been training for a few years now. I was thinking of how much i spend on supplements, nutrition, and gym. Supplements, I keep it very simple mostly whey, creatine, fish oil, and thinking of adding casein, and some NO. A month my supps cost about 90$ if a 60g whey shake costs about 1$ which is good price. Gym membership is 65$ a month. And now the big one- nutrition. If ur bulking and u go with cheap good foods such as tuna, oats, eggs and milk ur looking at about 90$ a week. That includes 8 cans of tuna a day, 10servings of oats, 6 whole eggs, half a gallon of milk. All together 515, round it off to 550 if u have a cheat meal like bk or something lol. Now that really is a lot of money specially if ur still in school. I manage to do it, but my question is what about all the ifbb pros out there. I read an article about competing at a county level stage, and the prep for the show was $34,000. Including tanning/posing/ and everything you could think of. How do the pros manage to get all this money after spending 2-3 hours a day just training. What kind of job do they work...

Alk
05-04-09, 9:19 am
Well, it would depend how good you are, how many competitions you're able to do, and if you're able to land a sponsor or not.

The Olympia (for men) is a winner take's all competition, so if you're not the best, you're not going home with anything. You get a huge cash prize for winning, but it's the biggest bodybuilding competition...so I'd assume you'd be looking for other ways to make ends meet, either through smaller competitions, and/or a regular, paying job. According to an interview of Greg Valentino on t-nation.com: