PDA

View Full Version : My personal diary of sweat, pain and thoughts

addicted_to_iron
05-18-09, 11:25 am
To first introduce my self.
Im 25 year old from the northern part of Sweden.
I study psychology at a university here and sometimes works extra at grouphomes within the neuropsychiatric care.
Not really used to write that much in english so you´ll have to excuse me if you sometimes have to read a sentence more than one time :)

This diary is meant to be about my training aswell as my thoughts about everything in life.

Anyway i have been training for about 8, soon 9 years.
When i was young i was very shy and didnt make much noise.
The usual victim for all kinds of bullying.
When i was about 16-17 years old it got really bad.
I got into a deep depression. Anxiety, stress, suicide thoughts... well all the negative emotions u can think of.
Started drinking quite heavily at age 16 and was an alcoholic at age 17.
One day i followed a friend to the gym. I liked the feeling it gave me and soon i was totally into weightlifting. I stopped drinking and focused purely on my training.
With the help of the iron i got a sense of control over myself and my life.
It was something that was purely mine and that NO ONE could take away from me.
All the hate towards myself and all the suicide thoughts i turned into pure rage.
That aggression and rage gave me the power to change my way of thinking and to survive whatever shit came in my way.
My training was never a hobby for me. From the first time i picked up the weights it became a piece of my identity.
Sure that has also had some negative effects like megarexia(dont know if its spelled that way in english?). But without the weights my chances of recovery would have been at lot less.

Anyway... ill write more about myself and my personal history later.
I just started training after have being sick with two different infections at the same time.