PDA

View Full Version : Higa's Strong Men

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

HIGA MONSTER
06-23-09, 11:42 am
Whats up Animals?

My name is Grant Higa. I'm a pro ptrongman up here in the Seattle area. Just wanted to introduce myself to my fellow bros of iron, and let you know that I will be posting here in regards to strongman training, or any upcoming contests.

Even though I compete in strongman, I sometimes have to take a bodybuilding approach to my training. Especially, in the offseason. This helps with my muscular endurance. I believe that some of my strongman event training can be beneficial to all you Animals on the FORVM too. Let me tell you, flipping a 800 lb tire for a 100 feet, builds SICK work capacity.

Hope to chat with a few of you Animals soon.

Much aloha,
HIGA MONSTER.

Mr. Dead
06-23-09, 2:22 pm
Hey, Brother!!! Great to see ya on here!!! We met at the Emerald Cup... Rage and I were working the booth....

Wasteland
06-23-09, 2:29 pm
Welcome Higa Monster. It's nice to have a strongman competitor here, one who understands the bodybuilding mentality.

Hollow
06-23-09, 3:06 pm
Welcome to the forvm HIGA MONSTER!

G Diesel
06-23-09, 4:43 pm
Looking forward to learning the ways of the strongman... Welcome aboard Higa.

Peace, G

Young&Hungry
06-23-09, 4:44 pm
Great to have you here bro. I guess the first question will come from me. Now that you mention tires, I've really been struggling with mine. How would you suggest working on efficiency with the transition phase on heavier tires? I have a video from my last show if you'd like to see my technique. I can crack tires within my range off the ground with ease, yet when it's time to bring the knee through it just doesn't time right and I bring it in at an awkward time, causing me to have the tire rest on my knee and have to fight to flip it. I know you have to fight harder for heavier tires but I feel like I could be more efficient with my knee.

ghost
06-23-09, 4:46 pm
Great to have you on here HIGA!!

dominate77