PDA

View Full Version : 20 rep squats

Vinny G
06-24-09, 5:15 pm
i have always said - it's the routine that you are not doing that will stim the muscles to new growth, you have to shock those bad boys. gotta stimulate with reps, heavy weight, drop sets, super sets...find what works and stick with it, but also get away from it all so you dont get burned out, try something new.

you learn something new all the time. a buddy of mine once said....when you think you know it all, thats the day you stop learning.

i started training with higher reps latley, due to training so heavy for over a year.
i was doing the HIT training, making awesome gains. but it was time for a change.

im FINALLY back into a groove with SQUATS, im in a good place, feeling strong again.

i just walked into the gym monday night with that passion, that fucking drive to push some weight around. i warmed up for 10 min on the cross trainer, 10 min of easy stretching, and some body weight squats and lunges.

i dont normally hit squats first, but i just got under 135 to get a feel, and it was smooth like butter moving up and down. but i was not impatient, i took my time. i did about 5 sets of "play around" warm up sets to make sure my knees and back were good to go.

remember i'm 42, so i need a big warm up.

185 for 5

225 for 5

275 for 5

i'm feeling good, and it been a long time that i feel this comfortable.

at this point im getting into a zone -

when i got under 275 for my 2nd set, i got to 5 and thought ok 5 more, when i got to 10, i thought ok 5 more, at 15 my thighs were feeling great, so why not 5 more....21 reps in total.

315, same mind set, as i broke the set into 5 reps it made it seem easier....17 reps total

365, again in the zone. cranked out 7 reps, dropped it down to 225 for 10, then 135 for 10 very slow controlled reps.

i finished up with 2 sets of hacks, 2 sets of extentions, and 3 sets of stiff leg.

Fury317
06-24-09, 5:40 pm