PDA

View Full Version : FlaBouy's No guts/No Glory

FlaBouy
07-06-09, 1:34 pm
Stepping up for the intro.

My background is a sorry one. I am an ex-Marine that allowed 12 hours a day behind a computer screen to wreak havoc on my body in the 25 years since I left the Marines. I love Taco Bell, Burger King, Outback Steakhouse, Dairy Queen, etc, etc.. You get the picture...

Christmas day 2008 I was getting ready to go to the in-laws for festivities, and bent down to tie my shoes, (actually I was sitting down and bending over) when I lost my breathe after tying one shoe. I had to take a break to tie the other. That pissed me off... I was 6' 2" and 292 pounds.

So on January 15th, 2009, I stepped up to being a man again. I have two young daughters and a wife of 16 years to take care of, so I knew I had had ENOUGH!!!

I reached down into my soul and found that old devil dog and brought him back forward. I started cleaning up the diet, I started working out on my treadmill (there is a funny story there) and unhung all the clothes off of my 2 year old Bowflex machine that had never been used...

Long story short, in 60 days I knocked off 35 pounds. I started a weight lifting program after 60 days and I just completed my 10th week of weight training...

I am not the lean, mean fighting machine I was 25 years ago... yet.... but by my 49th birthday on July 27th, unless I am in the ground feeding the worms, I will weigh nearly the same weight I weighed the day I left the Marines...

During this 6 month journey, I have found many things that have kept me grounded.. kept me on a solid foundation. These things I lean on when the day is hard and my mind tells me to quit because I have had made more progress than I could have ever imagined. The biggest thing that keeps me grounded is the iron... It does not care for my excuses... Does not care why I am late... just that I am here.... It watches my effort, and rewards my discipline. It punishes my weakness.