PDA

View Full Version : Help me out with cals here boys...

325iS
07-15-09, 11:20 pm
Hey guys,
I'm kinda new to this, kinda not. I'm 23, 6 foot, been lifting for a year in September. I have some decent lifts I guess (squat 225 for reps, bench 225 for a rep, deadlift 225 for 8 reps) but I'd still say I'm a beginner. I'm at about 155lbs w/ 6-7% bodyfat right now (so like 147 lean pounds?). I'm looking to put on some size over the winter but I'm confused about calories. Would you guys say a 3,000 cal diet is a safe start for a guy who weighs 155lbs? Eventually I'd like to be lean again so putting on weight temporarily isn't that big of an issue but I really don't see the point in putting excess fat on my body if I'm going to break my balls in a few months to get it off anyway. I know that naturally there will be some unwanted pounds there...but either way. Also, when I put myself on a 3,000 calorie diet will that be everyday? Or should I eat more on workout days or non-workout days? I'll be taking in a chocolate milk for an insulin spike post workout; 2 cups of that will add 300 cals which should cover what I'll be burning working out?

Thanks for the help guys. The reason I'm not going back to what I was doing last winter was because I put on some excess fat in some areas (face especially, drives me insane) and I worked out 5 days a week and ate like 3500 cals, pretty much forcefed at the end. I also ate a lot of shitty food (3 grilled cheeses a day everyday at work b/c it was the only non fried item there) and worked out like 5 times a week which was too much. I know that if I wanna stay lean I'll have to watch my cals especially if I'm excersising less (3 times a week vs. 5).

Thanks!

Wasteland
07-16-09, 9:03 am
Hey guys,