PDA

View Full Version : hang clean help

DG33
10-02-09, 12:26 am
alright so im a freshman this year and my squat is pretty good (315) my bench is ok (180) and my clean is just terrible i do about 150 and thats pretty low for other freshman at my school. any tips or any work outs that will really help get my hang clean up? thanks

BryanSmash!
10-02-09, 4:47 am
I'm assuming you're a football player, or considering trying out for it. At any rate the best advice I can give you is to have an experienced player or coach observe your form while lifting near maximal weights, and follow their advice and corrections. Developing that explosive power the correct way will aid you immensely in your chosen sport.

Sho
10-02-09, 10:08 am
keep practicing to get your form down and dont worry too much about the weight, concentrate on being very very explosive...you will be able to clean heavy in no time...

ironshaolin
10-02-09, 10:16 am
Bend, jump like your life depends on it, shrug hard, keep the bar close, get your ass under the bar FAST. Speed is imperative. Try following Wendler's 5/3/1 style for the move. First, set a max. Take a weight used x reps x .0333 +weight used =1 rep max. Take 90% of this. This is your TRAINING MAX. In week one, do 65%x5, 75%x5, 85%x as many as you can. Week 2, go for 70%x3, 80%x3, 90%x as many as you can. Week 3, do 75%x5, 85%x3, 95%x as many as you can. Week 4, do 40%x5, 50%x5, 60%x5 and END IT THERE. Use all percentages off your TRAINING max. This will ensure adequate progression. After week 4, add 10lbs to your TRAINING max and start the cycle over. Do this for 1-2 years, and you will be cleaning some serious weight.

Young&Hungry
10-02-09, 3:12 pm
If it doesn't look like this, you're wrong.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IrulaG7eKtE