PDA

View Full Version : We are all underdogs.

zbrewha863
11-18-09, 5:21 pm
I was always the best.

The best looking. The best grades. The best at every sport. Hell, I was even the best at things I didn't want to do.

I was focused. Every day. Every little thing that I was doing was my mountain. I cilmbed, every day. People always bet on the mountain.

I heard them. I was too small. Too big. Too fast. Too slow. Too white. Too street. I played too much by the rules. I didn't play by the rules enough. Too perfect, there had to be something wrong with me. I heard them.

I was 17 when I was hired at the local gym. I was a personal trainer (uncertified) -- I was too small, too weak to train lifters, so I got to train women and obese men. I started lifting, seriously.

I heard them. I was too small. Too weak. Too inexperienced. I didn't own lifting gloves. I didn't have the best shoes. I didn't have a bodybuilding.com membership. I was going to embarass myself. I was going to fail.

I was 17, just about to graduate high school with a 3.9. I was all-state in Florida. I was seeing Ms. Florida. I was the underdog.

Every day I asked questions. I gained knowledge. Every day I worked, lifting or running. I gained muscle, I lost fat.

Eventually, one guy asked me to help him train arms. I rode shotgun on his journey. Every day he lifted, I lifted. He sweat, I sweat. We both grew. Others saw this, started wanting training. We all travelled together.

They didn't like that. They challenged me. They were doing 285 on incline, trying to hit their new max. They laughed, said I couldn't do it. I had only been lifting for four months. I was too weak. Too small. Too inexperienced. I had never seen anything like this. It was the middle of my chest workout. I obliged.

I weighed 160 at the time. I got it twice. The third rep, something went wrong. My back . . . pain. I was laid up, had to have surgery.