PDA

View Full Version : Karate and Conditioning

Maccabee
11-24-09, 10:34 pm
Hey,

I just started learning Shotokan Karate. As far as physical strength comes into the equation I dont have a problem with that really since I am a powerlifter. I did a little boxing a few years ago, but I dont really remember all the conditioning drills we did.

Therefore, my problem is conditioning. I am slow.

I need a basic beginners conditioning routine to get me started. I have access to weights, stairs, jump rope, and a punching bag.

Any ideas?

C.Coronato
11-25-09, 9:42 am
I would look into Cross Fit. That shit will get you conditioned in no time.

Maccabee
11-26-09, 8:32 pm
Thank you.

ironshaolin
11-26-09, 8:48 pm
With weights and jumpropes and a heavy bag you seriously have all you need. Throw in a few barbell complexes, those rock. In the past I've done workouts always starting with a 2-3 min round of jump rope, but now in my morning training we do 5 2 min rounds of jump rope so I don't do that during my gym sessions.

Try adding in, either AFTER your lifting, or on an off day, some complexes. Examples:

6 reps each, back to back with NO putting the bar down, as little pauses as possible
Deadlift, stiff dead, bent row, power clean, front squat, push press, back squat, good morning
Another way is to do 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 reps adding weight each time. I like the 5-6 reps for 3-5 cycles at the end of a workout.

Snatch grip deadlift into hang power snatch, into overhead squat, into behind the head push jerk-3-5 reps each back to back

Deadlift, high pull, clean and jerk, back squat, good morning, lunge

or just go for rounds on the heavy bag, thats a personal favorite.

So one suggestion might be to alternate. Begin every workout with 2 or 3 rounds of jump rope as a warm up. Do your powerlifting workout, then end with either a barbell complex or a few rounds of 2 or 3 mins on a heavy bag, and alternate between the two.

TigerAce01
11-26-09, 8:57 pm