PDA

View Full Version : BELIEVE's journey: the gym saved my life

BELIEVE
01-31-10, 9:37 pm
This is the first of hopefully many posts on this great forum so allow me to introduce myself and tell you where I come from. This might be a long post but it will be 100% bullshit-free.

I'm a 27 y-o student from Montreal, Canada and the last 3 years of my life have been simply sad and pathetic. I used to be a happy, social person with a steady job and decent success with the ladies. Unfortunately for me, everything changed 3 years ago when I lost my job and began playing world of warcraft... it just went downhill from there. I guess you could say I have an addicting personality so I got hooked on WoW and that was pretty much all I did in my free times and weekends. I would also smoke weed daily, drink considerable amounts of alcohol every week (probably 20 to 30 beers), and eat shitty food. I was single, depressed, out of shape, and playing world of warcraft high as fuck while drinking beers was all I cared about. I barely saw my friends during those last 3 years and got laid twice. My life was going absolutely nowhere.

I "woke up" 2 months ago on my 27th birthday. Nobody besides my parents called me to wish me a happy birthday, which is normal considering I had been pretty much ignoring them for so long. Then I started to wonder how the hell I let myself become so pathetic. I needed to make some major changes in my life ASAP.

The next day, I cancelled my world of warcraft subscription and threw the following things in the garbage: game discs, bong, weed. I then headed to my local gym to get a membership and trained for the first time in years. That evening, I called some of my friends to apologize and thankfully they were glad to have my back in the land of the living.