PDA

View Full Version : Negative Reps & DOMS

Lightnin'
02-05-10, 11:12 am
So this week to change it up a bit I did negative reps for all bodyparts. Just curious as to why negatives increase DOMS. I did chest on Wednesday with high intensity and I can't believe how sore I am. I haven't been this sore since I started training years ago. Even the connectors in my arm pits are sore. Feels great though, I love being sore. Anyway, I was just curious if negatives tend to cause more muscle trama or if it is just a case of me changing it up. Either way I am adding a week of negative to my training every 6 weeks or so.

GJN5002
02-05-10, 11:37 am
I don tknow if its necessarily the negatives that gave you the DOMS so much as the change in your routine.

rev8ball
02-05-10, 11:40 am
So this week to change it up a bit I did negative reps for all bodyparts. Just curious as to why negatives increase DOMS. I did chest on Wednesday with high intensity and I can't believe how sore I am. I haven't been this sore since I started training years ago. Even the connectors in my arm pits are sore. Feels great though, I love being sore. Anyway, I was just curious if negatives tend to cause more muscle trama or if it is just a case of me changing it up. Either way I am adding a week of negative to my training every 6 weeks or so.

Two reasons:

1. As you probably know, if you use a particular regimen for an extended time and then switch it up, you will most likely experience DOMS.

2. Training with negatives forces the muscles to operate differently (mostly mechanically), so it can really elicit some major DOMS. It can help with muscle size, but not so much for strength or power.

For more info on this, check out my review of Rage's Hell Raiser training. The application is the same:

Post #47
http://forum.animalpak.com/showthread.php?t=14062&page=3

Lightnin'
02-11-10, 9:52 am
Thanks Rev. Can you sum it all up for me?

intoodeep25
02-11-10, 11:37 am