PDA

View Full Version : Animal meets...mixed martial arts?

tommyb1203
05-01-10, 4:46 pm
Sup boys. So don't post on here too much but I do read quite a bit. I have been training in Mixed martial arts for the past two years. I have also been kickboxing for 3 years now. I FINALLY have my first fight comin up this summer so I needed to pack on the strength.

Obviously since I am about to fight, I cannot work under ideal conditions (ei..pack on mass and cut fat later) I need to keep the meat lean and calories low because I weigh(ed) 185 and need to be 155 for my fight.

Anyways just wanted to share my results so far. I have been using the routine from the Bench Like an Animal article (it has only been 4 weeks)

Before: (1 rep maxes)
Weight- 185lbs
Squat- 265lbs
Deadlift- 280lbs
Bench- 185lbs

Now: (4 weeks later)
Weight-174lbs
Squat- 305
Deads- 330
Bench-205

Not sure how great the leg improvement is for 4 weeks, but to me it seems pretty damn solid..10lbs a week increase to squat, 12.5 lbs a week to deadlift, and 5 lbs a week to bench. I plan on finishing this program strong an after these 8 weeks I'm hoping to be somewhere around s-340ish, deads- 360+, bench 215+.

I didn't set exact goals for myself because I don't want to over strain my body before a fight. After this program I will be taking it easy, moving reps up to around 8-10 and keep weights low until after my fight. For the first time in my life II have finally been satisfied with my gains (especially since I am dieting hardcore) and feel like the bug finally bit me in the ass. After my fight I will be hitting the gym and the food with full force. I'll keep everyone posted on the results when I finish this routine. Thanks for lookin brothas..

Mindaugas
05-01-10, 6:31 pm