PDA

View Full Version : Firefighter Down

Howitzer
06-23-10, 2:26 am
July 12 '10 will mark 5 years in the fire service. coming up on two years ago, I was made 2nd Lt. in my fire company. It is an elected position because the company is volunteer. This, in addition to paramedic school and a diet composed of cup noodles and shit, at age 21, my blood pressure was 140 (high stress shit going on) and starting to have a gut that was scarily similar to what a lot of the other firefighters had... But unlike them, I at no point in my life had been exceptionally strong. I was strong enough to wear the gear and do the tasks at the level of minimum competency... But that wasn't enough now. I was an officer. My guys and gals on my crew would look to me when shit got real. I was responsible for their lives in a very scary way; that is to say, completely responsible.
So between high blood pressure, a gut (which was ten pounds of beer, noodles, and shit), and the responsibility for other people's lives, I had to act. Also, nothing disgusts me quite like seeing a fat doctor tell a patient to lose weight. It's the healthcare provider paradox, and I'm determined never to be part of THAT equation.