PDA

View Full Version : Dumbbell Pullovers for Chest?

Zeus92
07-26-10, 11:44 am
Hey guys,

I was just wondering who uses dumbbell pullovers for chest on here. I've tried putting them in my chest routine before as a last exercise to try and get a good stretch, but i feel like this hits the lats way more than anything. To me it seems almost identical to a straight-arm lat pulldown but your just using a freeweight. So this seems great for back, but i feel like there are much better exercises to stretch out the chest like cable crossovers and flys. However, i know there are a lot of people who use these as a staple in their chest routine so i figured i'd just get some more opinions on it especially since im new to the game.

Toro
07-26-10, 12:01 pm
If you are not feeling your chest its probably because you are not holding the dumbbell properly. With your hands facing down and your thumbs out, if you put your hands toguether they form a circle, thats where the bar of the dumbbell must go through. The lat variation of the exercise is holding the sides of the weight attached to the dumbbell and i assume you are doing that.

rockyIV
07-26-10, 12:14 pm
Change up your elbow position. I haven't done these in a while but I think to hit chest point your elbows toward your toes and it will hit your pecs more. Your lats will get hit either way.

woody06
07-26-10, 12:41 pm
For chest: stand facing away perpindicular to a flat bench. Sqaut down and lay back putting your upper back on the bench. Drop your hips keeping your feet flat on the ground. Now lower the weight down on the other side of the bench and raise it back to straight above your head.

For back: lay on a decline and pull the weight up untill your arms are straight up.

prowrestler
07-26-10, 3:05 pm
it is a lat exercise. not a chest exercise.

a pullover is the isolation version of a close grip pulldown.

Coltman
07-26-10, 3:14 pm