PDA

View Full Version : Iron and Brass - my 5-3-1 experience

AlphaBrass01
09-12-10, 7:59 am
I already have this log going on a couple of other sites, but wanted to run it here as well, just to get as much feedback as possible. I can't promise I'll take everyone's advice all the time, but I will consider it.

I'll start out by copying what I already have from my first couple weeks of 5-3-1.

In addition, know that I'm also starting a new supplement stack this week, and I'm excited about it.

Pak
Pump
Flex
Omega
PM
M-Stak

Beef Aminos
Intra-Aid

Protein
Greens Product

AlphaBrass01
09-12-10, 8:05 am
A little background. I started lifting as part of losing weight. I started at a little over 280 and lost a lot of weight. I think I was 156 or so at my lightest. Since then, I've been trying to gain strength. I'm just finished about twelve weeks worth of a WS4SB template. While using this program, I saw how much I enjoyed training for strength, and have decided to give 5-3-1 a try. It appeals to me largely because it is very regimented. The percentages leave less to chance, which is good for someone who is a bit OCD like me. Also, sticking to Wendler's "Boring But Big" idea of assistance exercises gives will force me to stay simple with what I do.

I'm a little nervous about not having any direct arm or calf work (my calves are one of my favorite groups), but I think this will be good, as I tend to over-complicate programs. I'm planning on using weighted exercises for one lower and one upper day and body weight exercises for the other two days. I won't be including ab work, as I prefer to do that with cardio. I know my cardio will seem like A LOT to most people, but I find some cardio after lifting makes me feel better for the rest of the day, and a couple of endurance days keeps me feeling good. It may not fully support the strength goal, but I spent way too many years being the fat kid who couldn't finish the mile run in gym class, and doing it makes me feel good.