PDA

View Full Version : How much prep time

sin-city-customs
02-15-11, 9:10 pm
Just wondering how much time you guys think you spend making meals for the day/week. Breakfast and lunch mostly. I was thinking 3-4 hours for a weeks worth. I split it into Sun and Wed nights. Have to cook dinner with the kids when I get home daily.
Dave

Mr. Dead
02-15-11, 11:35 pm
Just wondering how much time you guys think you spend making meals for the day/week. Breakfast and lunch mostly. I was thinking 3-4 hours for a weeks worth. I split it into Sun and Wed nights. Have to cook dinner with the kids when I get home daily.
Dave

Depends on the size of the grill, oven, rice cooker, etc.... I've got a rather large grill, and a 20 cup rice cooker... So, it only takes me about half that time...

dannynb
02-15-11, 11:36 pm
I spend 2 evenings a week prepping food after the kids go to bed while I'm studying or working on diets.....I also have a great wife who will do "some" cooking for me during the week if need be.

Jay
02-16-11, 7:40 am
Same here.. every few days for me and always the day before the work week.

Oz_78
02-16-11, 10:43 pm
Too much!!

Twice a week on my days off work,all up probably about 4hrs give or take.

Carl
02-17-11, 12:45 pm
I make mine every night for the next day's meals. It takes about one hour.

Appollonian
02-17-11, 1:50 pm
This is how my prep time works:

For lunches that I eat at work, the meat is from the dinner the night before or two nights before and the rice that goes with it is cooked the night before while dinner is cooking (unless we are eating rice, then it happens after that). For the meat I usually make 3-6 servings at a time, which gives my wife and I either 1 or two nights worth of dinners and then 1-2 lunches. So for that, I only count the prep time to assemble the meal, about 5 minutes.