PDA

View Full Version : 5/3/1 For Powerlifting is Out!

T o m m Y
05-17-11, 4:44 pm
http://asp.elitefts.com/qa/training-logs.asp?qid=145966&tid=

smoothballer
05-17-11, 5:07 pm
Saw that. Very curious to see the difference between it and the original 5/3/1.

NickSP
05-17-11, 7:19 pm
Very interested. I've wondered about something like this.

I'm a newbie to strength, and when I made the decision to start I was reading a lot of good about 531 and bought the book. So it's the first and only real program I've done. Ran it for a couple cycles some time ago but all my training kinda got messed up. I'm back on it now and in my second cycle. I've seen a lot of experienced guys telling others to hold off on something like westside cause they're not ready, so I've been wondering if I should just stick to it for a while or look into a program that puts heavy weight in your hands more often then 531 does. So this is perfect timing for me. As a beginner I guess I'll run the original for a few more cycles to see how I like it over an extended period of time, then look into the new book. I think it's great there's a section for non-competitors too, cause I am trying to focus on maximal strength but I don't know if I plan on competing.

prowrestler
05-18-11, 1:29 am
nick, if you have made the effort to start 531, do 531. a program only works when you are doing it. routine jumping will kill you. 531 is an investment type of program. you get stronger off submaximal weights. if people got stronger lifting maxes...wed all just compete every week. that is the difference between testing and training.

the program is good. i myself dont care for it, and i see 90% of people fucking it up...but when done right, it gives pretty good, steady gains.

Deathride
05-18-11, 6:37 am