PDA

View Full Version : What motivated you

Tiny1102
05-18-11, 11:01 am
To become a powerlifter or bodybuilder. Do you remember your first show?

Brick By Brick
05-18-11, 12:04 pm
PL/strongwoman. I had an uncle, Richard Woods, who was a powerlifter. Went to a PL contest at the Western Idaho Fairgrounds with the family when I was 12. I never forgot being amongst those guys, it was just about the coolest thing I had ever witnessed. I wanted to be part of it.
When I was an adult, at age 35, I started lifting heavy, doing Westside for Intermediate Lifters, to get in better shape/stronger for work at the county jail. I found out the women did strongman training/contests, I got in with a local crew in Boise, and the rest is history. I tried the figure training/diet in my late 20's, and while I learned a lot, it wasn't for me. I just like picking up heavy things and putting them down. And I can't walk in high heels.

Tiny1102
05-18-11, 12:25 pm
That is a cool story

PL/strongwoman. I had an uncle, Richard Woods, who was a powerlifter. Went to a PL contest at the Western Idaho Fairgrounds with the family when I was 12. I never forgot being amongst those guys, it was just about the coolest thing I had ever witnessed. I wanted to be part of it.
When I was an adult, at age 35, I started lifting heavy, doing Westside for Intermediate Lifters, to get in better shape/stronger for work at the county jail. I found out the women did strongman training/contests, I got in with a local crew in Boise, and the rest is history. I tried the figure training/diet in my late 20's, and while I learned a lot, it wasn't for me. I just like picking up heavy things and putting them down. And I can't walk in high heels.

rev8ball
05-18-11, 12:32 pm
To become a powerlifter or bodybuilder. Do you remember your first show?