PDA

View Full Version : Stupid question probably... (Powerlifting related)

unfettered
08-27-11, 8:06 pm
Ok so my question might be a dumb one but I just don't know the answer. :(

"Why do powerlifting routines (or atleast the ones I've looked at) start at 50-60% of the lifter's E1RM?"

I'm starting a routine for my first-ever powerlifting competition.
Now I'm new to competition but I'm not new to lifting.
I've never tried to increase a max on one of my lifts by starting a routine with half of my max. It just seems to me that the first 5-7 weeks of a 10-12 week program could be better spent actually working hard and lifting heavy rather than working with 50% of my max.

I'm currently starting week#2 on my routine and have moved up to 55-65% of my lifts but to be honest I'm anxious and feel like I'm wasting time playing with light weight when I could be chasing down a state record for my weight class.

Nix0r
08-27-11, 8:12 pm
What routine are you following? Post it up, and we can see what's going on.

unfettered
08-27-11, 8:41 pm
Here are weeks 4 through 6 of my routine. (Sorry, copying and pasting from spreadsheets is irritating, lol)
Basically for 12 weeks i'm gradually increasing from 50% to (hopefully) 110-115% of my current 1 rep maxes.
Remember, this is just a brief summary.
Assistance exercises (anything that's not bench, squat or deadlift) are always 2-3 sets with 8-12 reps

s.squat = speed squat(w/bands), seated leg curls, seated leg exts, donkey calfs raises
h.squat = heavy squat, DB lunges, seated calf raises

s.bench = speed press(w/bands), tricep pulldowns, single arm tate press, power shrugs
h.bench = heavy bench(w/boards), close-grip press, DB press, incline flys

h.deadlift = deadlift, BB rows, revers-grip pulldowns, leg press

WEEK DAY LIFT WEIGHT SxR
4 m s.squat 65% 8x3
4 t s.bench 65% 8x3
4 w
4 r h.squat 75% 6x3
4 f
4 sa h.bench 75% 8x3
4 su h.deadlift 75% 6x3

WEEK DAY LIFT WEIGHT SxR
5 m s.squat 70% 7x3
5 t s.bench 70% 7x3
5 w