PDA

View Full Version : SouthernNational Bench Press & Deadlift.

GFH_Bama
01-23-12, 1:38 pm
Hello fellas. I am entering the Southern National Bench Press and Deadlift meet June 30. I have been training for a little over 2 months now. My bench max is right around 365 raw, but that is not a pause bench. My 1 second pause bench is 325. I have some work to do before June since I am wanting to get up to about 405. My deadlift is probably my best lift of all the main ones. Right now I am a little above 600, but my form could use some work and I need to be around 700 by the time of the meet. This is the first meet I have ever competed in. I trained to be in a meet in December, but did not get to enter due to the fact that I am a football coach and I lost some strength during the season so my team said it was in my best interest to wait until this one. Any advice on training and splits would be much appreciated.

BigChrisF
01-24-12, 4:02 am
Unless you are looking at a specialized supplementation program or jumping a weight class or two, I don't believe those goals are likely. Maybe if you have already been up there before and are coming back from extended time away from training. Blazing your way into fresh territory tends to take a lot longer than comebacks.

For your first meet, I usually advise not to be too concerned with performance. There are a lot of different aspect to competing that you are going to have to figure out, and can screw up your performance along the way. The longer the meet, the more you will have to time things right. Timing when to put gear on between attempts, timing your warm-ups, when to eat and what and so on. Your main goal is to not bomb-out and learn what you can about the process. Generally lifters are friendly with each other, so asking other people at the meet can be helpful. Just avoid bombarding people with questions while they are warming up or psyching up for a lift.