PDA

View Full Version : P Bo's Raw PL Log: Putting the commit in COMMITMENT

P_Bo
05-21-12, 10:18 am
A couple 'bro's' suggested I keep a log here and after checking out the FORVM, I think a found a place where I belong.

A bit about me first I guess to start things off. My name is Pam but most people call me P Bo. I lift out of McDole's Gym in Winnipeg, Manitoba. It's a fantastic place full of toys and goodies. I lift alone most of the time but train with our strongman crew whenever I can - usually on Saturdays. I dabble in strongman and play with the implements from time to time but my main focus and passion/love is powerlifting. I've been competing for a couple of years now and have elite totals in the 148 and 165 weight class. One day I'll venture into equipped lifting when I have a team to lift with maybe but for now I'm utterly happy lifting raw. I use Inzer Z wrist wraps and and Inzer lever taper belt. My waist is so small that a regular belt crushes into my ribs and hips so a taper belt it is. At some point I'll buy knee wraps and maybe some briefs to train in to save my hips a little.

My last meet was March 24, 2012 where I totaled 859 @ 146 lbs. This was my first meet back after having my third shoulder reconstruction June 27, 2011. Nine months of rehab flew by and I came back in a lighter weight class, pound for pound stronger. Injuries can mind fuck you if you let them or you can use them to your advantage to test your mental fortitude. Physical strength is nothing is you are mentally weak.

My next meet is the Hartford Europa Battle of Champions June 30, 2012. I'm not going to talk about what numbers I'm going to hit there, but rather I'll come back and show what I did. Less talking/thinking, more doing!

Here's vid of my last meet. I swear, the slight downward bar movement on my second pull haunts me to this day. I deserved all three reds. Make no mistake, this training cycle I've been hammering away at my pull to correct my weaknesses.