PDA

View Full Version : Running while bulking?

Vrotsos991
08-11-12, 4:14 pm
Have not done cardio since i started lifting (september). I slowly started running and was thinking about doing 5miles 3 days a week. Will this effect my bulking even if i eat enough?

JoshLandry
08-11-12, 9:02 pm
Have not done cardio since i started lifting (september). I slowly started running and was thinking about doing 5miles 3 days a week. Will this effect my bulking even if i eat enough?

well depending on your ultimate goal, yes and no. if your trying to be the best bodybuilder you can i would say no. running burns muscle off of you way too fast. you only need your heart rate up around 130 to burn fat. and you can do that with a incline walk on the treadmill. but like i said everything is dependent on your goals buddy.

Kingslayer
08-12-12, 5:03 pm
15 miles a week? Get it done!

PORTERHOUSE
08-12-12, 6:59 pm
I mean, what is your goal? Distance running and bodybuilding don't mix.

Personally, I use a mixture of low intensity cardio and sprinting.

C.Coronato
08-13-12, 11:51 am
If you eat enough to counteract that caloric deficit into your body by running that much, you should be good. But that will be a ton of food!

P Diesel
08-14-12, 12:24 am
yea like C said thats a ton mroe food to counter the caloric loss. its 100% counter productive if ur bulking to do cardio bro

P

PORTERHOUSE
08-14-12, 10:51 am
its 100% counter productive if ur bulking to do cardio bro

P

Only if your only goal is to watch the scale go up... but that's fucking easy, people who don't train do it every day.

I think that's becoming somewhat an archaic mindset.

Big C
08-14-12, 11:07 am
I do enough a week to keep my heart in check, and I'm not cutting or anything at the moment.

Elliptical 3-4x a week (20 minute sessions) post workout and running sprints at the track 2x a week. I feel better overall and don't feel winded like I used to.