PDA

View Full Version : 5/3/1 Trend

DEADn
09-19-12, 11:02 am
In my lurkings on the net I have been noticing the 5/3/1 method gaining traction. I have been using it for the past several months simply because I am transitioning from Bodybuilding method to more strength training and this happened upon my lap. Yet, 5/3/1 seems to be getting 'Trendy' and I am wondering how long this wave is going to last before someone comes up with the next trendy thing.

Maybe this post is just a rant on my part, I don't know but this is a short synopsis of what I am seeing and feeling. Before this I was trying to do DC training by my body is not equipped for that kind of damage - yet.

John

warg
09-19-12, 11:05 am
I think so too, but if it is trendy to lift heavy ass weights then I think it is all good.

DEADn
09-19-12, 11:32 am
It is usually more trendy to lift high volume to fill the muscles so that they are big as balloons because it becomes all about the look in the end. I pushed myself in that direction for quite a while and came to the hard reality that there is no strength behind it and only a temporary look so I transitioned to strength training with a little volume behind it. I would rather have strength push up my size then size push up my size. Strength usually last longer. Volume is like a balloon, full of air which goes away in a short period of time.

I might also add that 5/3/1 could be a stepping stone for me to go into powerlifting. All I know for now I am I focused on greater and greater strength and 5/3/1 is my gradual, supposedly injury free, way to a greater point.

ghost
09-19-12, 12:09 pm
5/3/1 is no trend. its a no-bullshit, simple, training method. definitely NOT a trend. it has been around for a few years now, i believe, and is not just now "gaining momentum." it exploded right away because of how awesome, and simple it truly is.

World Eater
09-19-12, 1:20 pm