PDA

View Full Version : Is this a solid leg day?

KettleBellFreak
11-27-12, 11:09 pm
I'm still pretty new to the gym, but I'm all for the train insane style. Gotta go hard to get hard. But I read the articles on how leg training should be brutal:

Half mile run
6-8 barbell squat, raise weight after 2nd and 4th set
6-8 leg press, same raise strategy
6-15 seated calf raise, same raise
6-20 standing calf, same raise
6-15 seated leg raise, same raise
6-20 lying leg curl, same raise
6-25 hip abduction in, same raise
6-25 hip abduction out, same raise
Half mile run.

That sound solid or should I change anything, im still skeptical of my training because of my maturity in the sport.

Far Beyond Driven
11-27-12, 11:59 pm
I'm still pretty new to the gym, but I'm all for the train insane style. Gotta go hard to get hard. But I read the articles on how leg training should be brutal:

Half mile run
Half mile run.

That sound solid or should I change anything, im still skeptical of my training because of my maturity in the sport.

Totally solid, but I'd kill the second run. At that point, your glycogen stores are killed, your fast twitch fibers are spent, and you're just going anaerobically. I'd just worry about supplementation, calories, and rest after the gym time. Tom Platz got away with it largely because of freakish genetics. Most can't benefit from the additional run (or bike) at the end.

TigerAce01
11-28-12, 12:41 am
Take calves and put them at the end. Your calves will be mostly spent by the end of your sessions anyway...why not get the most out of your session?

Move the leg curls to the first spot and do them before you squat. This will fill your hamstrings with fluid making you more stable in the hole, as well as lubricate your knees. Also, most people are weak in the hamstrings..by hitting them first you can ensure you lift strong.