PDA

View Full Version : Sumo Deadlifts

rbowman91
12-18-12, 10:46 am
I've been deadlifting conventional for a while now, and felt like changing it up with some Sumo's, but I've never done them before and there are few serious power lifters at my gym.

Can anyone recommend a good article or youtube video explanation of how to do these properly? Or Is it simply a difference in stance but everything else is the same?

Thanks fellas

Aggression
12-18-12, 11:06 am
Its still a deadlift. The difference is that you're in sumo stance, obviously. Sumo deads use more glute/hip compared to conventional.

C.Coronato, myself, and Chris DellaFave did a bunch of deadlifts the other week. The former does conventional, the latter 2 use sumo: http://youtu.be/TQ0cwdwoM7E

rbowman91
12-18-12, 11:28 am
Its still a deadlift. The difference is that you're in sumo stance, obviously. Sumo deads use more glute/hip compared to conventional.

C.Coronato, myself, and Chris DellaFave did a bunch of deadlifts the other week. The former does conventional, the latter 2 use sumo: http://youtu.be/TQ0cwdwoM7E

Thanks bro this is rock solid! Great pulls fellas.

Also that gym looks sick. I've never heard of Bergen County Barbell, but may have to add it to my NJ Gym pilgrimage list.

Aggression
12-18-12, 11:38 am
Also that gym looks sick. I've never heard of Bergen County Barbell, but may have to add it to my NJ Gym pilgrimage list.

Its actually a place called FORCE. Bergen County Barbell is just a group name that he came up with. Its way up in North Jersey. Sweet gym, no doubt.

rainman
12-18-12, 4:59 pm
I am the same as you. I have always lifted conventional as my main deadlift stance and have always been able to pull more using this style, but switched to sumos a few months back.