PDA

View Full Version : The Cage 2013: My Experience, Episode 1

Freakshowelite
03-08-13, 2:39 pm
I will give a better description about my experience in the cage specifically very soon, but for now heres my write up of the whole weekend:

"You Never Will"

This past weekend I had the great opportunity to realize one of my biggest powerlifting dreams and goals. When I started training I had come across a video of these guys training in a cage. I thought it was one of the most badass things I had ever seen. After some investigation I found that it was the Animal Cage at the Arnold Classic expo. My impression was that this is wear the freakiest of the freaky, the strongest of the strong get a special invite to come train in. I said from early on that I was going to squat in that cage someday. Someone to whom I trained with, and sort of looked up to told me I never would make it to the Cage. There's a difference between when someone you don't know doubts you, but when someone you look up to doubts you it either crushes you, or lights a fuse that will never be extinguished until it hits that dynamite. A few years pass and I get to the point where a 1000lb squat is a real possibility later on my future. I made the mistake of expressing to this same person my goals of squatting a grand at the Arnold Classic. Again this person told me that wouldn't happen. From then on it was my mission to squat a grand in the Animal Cage.