PDA

View Full Version : Busting Plateaus

Average Joe
04-29-13, 12:43 pm
Hey everyone so here is a little bit about my past. I've been a competitive swimmer for the past 6 years and always been a skinny guy. Endurance and cardio wise nothing needs to be changed however sophomore year I was sick of being a scrawny little guy. I started lifting doing a basic 3 day split and went from 135-150lbs. This was fine but after a while I still wasn't satisfied so I went from 150 to 160lbs. Now at the end of my senior year I was 165, right now I'm currently trying to bulk to around 185lbs and I currently sit at 170lbs. Now, even though high school swimming is over I was recruited to swim in college and will be swimming throughout college. However the thing is July first I have a 6 week boot camp for West Point and do not want to be a tiny little endurance athlete who can't lift shit. I am currently stuck at 170lbs and have been for a few weeks so I was hoping I could get some criticism of my routine/diet.
Sun- supersets
Bench/BO row
Inc DB bench/ RG Pulldowns
Decline Bench/ One arm rows
Push-up/ pull-up to failure for 5 rounds

Monday-swim/run

Tues-arm supersets/ swim
Close grip bench/BB curl
Tri pulldowns/ db curl
Pinwheel curl/overhead tri
Dips/ preachers till I can only get 2 reps

Wed- run
Back squat/leg curl
Rear elevated single leg split squat/ deadlift

Thurs-swim/run

Friday- run/ overhead movements
Clean/ shoulder press
Pulldowns/ lat raises
Wood chops with TRX cable machine
Sat- rest

As far as nutrition goes I don't have a routine meal plan but I'm getting 4-6 meals a day. The macros look approximately like 300g protein, 400-500g carb, 150g of fat. Approx 4,000-4,700 cals a day.

Any advice on what's causing the stall would be great.

jexta
05-03-13, 7:45 am