PDA

View Full Version : Learning to squat the HARD way

The Mississippi Monster
12-19-12, 12:20 pm
My football coach in high school showed me how to squat by backing up and squating down and standing up. He then said," I have you down to squat 430lbs, can you do it?" I walked up on stage with no warm-ups and did the most ungawdful looking goodmoring(all back bent over) squat you'd ever seen. A few weeks later I started training with a real powerlifting team. I mean with real powerlifters that know what they're doing....I picked up on it fairly easy and went on to squat 585lbs in the 165lb class at 15 years old, 628lbs in the 181lb class at 16 years old, 688lbs in the 198lb class at 17 years old, 749lbs in the 220lb class at 18 years old, 837lbs in the 220lb class at 19 years old(still hold this record) and 960lbs weighing just 230lbs at 22 years of age. I did this all using a very wide stance........