PDA

View Full Version : How I train for a meet: Month 1-War is the answer!

Freakshowelite
05-14-13, 2:22 pm
When I started training I really had clue how to go about it. I was a bodybuilder previously and had to use what I knew from bodybuilding to build a game plan. I knew that when I pyramided up I was able to get in quality work and still lift heavy ass weights and get strong(er). So why not apply this to powerlifting. From most people I gathered that 12 weeks is your normal amount of time given to prepare for a meet. So my basic plan of attack was to pyramid towards the meet. At 3 months out I hit 3 reps, at 2 months out I hit 2 reps, and the last month is single. Pretty much progressive overload, with my own twist. Bodybuilding had taught me a lot about work ethic, and in return I learned how to bust my ass. Which is pretty much the basis of how I train, no real rhyme, reason, no real intelligance, just work.

Month 1: "I'll work till I'm dead, and then I'll do it all again"-RB

-This first month is probably the most painful part of my training. The first month consists of:
1.raw
2.no belt
3.ME Triples
4.no straight weight
5.bands, chains, combination
6.multiple bars, angles, deficits, boxes, boards, and blocks
7.pain