PDA

View Full Version : The Road to the Arnold Pro Raw

ironlion93
07-23-13, 2:36 pm
I've been lurking in the FORVM for a while now, and figured it was time for me to make a post. I waited until after one of my competitions so that I can start from the beginning.
First, a little background on who I am. My name's Greg, I'm 20, in the 83 kg. class, and I picked up the moniker the Iron Lion from an announcer at my first couple meets or so who kept referring to me as the Iron Lion, I liked it and it stuck. It wasn't until recently that I discovered my family crest is covered in lions, however, I digress. I started training for PL January of 2012. My first meet was in May 2012 and I totaled 1137, enough to qualify me for Men's, Teen, Junior Nationals in Orlando, my hometown. I competed there and placed fourth with a slightly better total. One last local meet in October 2012 qualified me for Collegiate Nationals in Killeen. I threw on the gear at this point. I placed 12th at collegiate nationals. It was a major ego check, as I went 5/9, not even coming close to my potential, except with a 601 lb PR third deadlift. I was asked to lift for Team USA in the Pan-American Championships. I cut way to hard for the meet, felt like complete shit, still came out with a second place medal and 9 points for the team. After this I had only 2 weeks until Raw Nationals. Between the two meets, my hip flexors locked up, my lower back was sore, and my glute med was tender as veal. It was to the point where I believed I wouldn't be able to compete. I went to the gym and did my openers for Raw Nationals. I could barely squat 435. Which is pathetic, considering during my training for Pan-Ams I would do 415x5x3 raw w/ a belt on without a problem.