PDA

View Full Version : Squid's Log

fos3050
09-20-13, 11:38 pm
Quick background: I've been training for about 6 years. Like a lot of other people, I got into lifting/training after high school sports ended. Something to keep my competitive nature happy and to keep me active. I became friends with a guy in my gym who mainly trained for strongman events and some powerlifting. He helped me with basic lifts & more advanced lifts as time went on, technique/form, training progression, and most importantly always made me keep a training log. I stayed pretty loyal to my training log for about 2 years and somewhere in the mix of things, got away from using the log. Competing in a figure show had always been a goal of mine, even though I didn't really voice that to anyone else, not even my training partner. I used that goal as my training focus for those first three years, got in touch with a pretty decent trainer in my area, and got on stage in 2010. For only dieting for 9 weeks I was pretty happy with the end result and liked the high you feel when being on stage. I've wanted to get back on stage since, but have had to take some time away from the more strict and time consuming training that is required for competitions to focus on my schooling and career. I also began to dabble more into powerlifting and had considered switching from figure to PL. Then the new WPD came about and that peeked my interest...there is more of a chance of me being able to PL and compete in Women's Physique than PL/figure....at least in my case. I don't have an issue putting on muscle so PL moves seem to make me a little too bulky for figure, IMO. So obviously I have no idea what my long term goal is these days. Regardless of my indecisiveness, I had been training rather consistently up until about 7/8 months ago....strained/torn glute, piriformis syndrome, and sacroiliac joint dislocation...not sure which caused which...chicken or the egg? So due to all of that, I went through physical therapy