PDA

View Full Version : Fighting gravity and the threat of a coming “planet”.

Erik
08-25-14, 12:10 pm
As a child, I had very little interest in anything besides comic books and action figures, and I was terrified of EVERYTHING. Then at 12, I fell madly, deeply and hopelessly in love with the simple act of picking up a loaded barbell and fighting gravity. I was not athletically inclined or naturally strong, and my body had a tendency to hold onto fat, not muscle. Still, I trained. Progress did not come easy and when I tried to speed up the process, I got punished. If I tried to increase my food intake in an effort to gain mass and strength, I just got fat. If I tried to starve myself in an effort to get ripped, I would just lose a bunch of muscle and end up flat. Strength did not come easy either. I first benched 225 for a single at 18, six years after I started lifting. Still, I kept training. I trained through some very rough patches, including my mother’s first bout with breast cancer, then my father’s death a year later and losing our house shortly after that, all before I turned 20. Sometimes I would train in a poorly maintained gym where cables snapped, other times I would lift in a garage that reeked of dog s***, and little by little, progress came. Since the internet was in its embryonic stages, the only way to learn was to ask questions from the more seasoned veterans of the iron game. So to that end, I learned to train in GYMS, and I learned to train heavy. In time, the monsters in the gym that terrified me, accepted me and I became one of them.