PDA

View Full Version : Strength Program

dergrinch20
11-18-14, 5:07 am
Hey Everyone:)
I`m from Germany and a very big fan of the forum and the page and the animals!

I've been doing hypertrophy training for a about 9 months. I did not have a good success.

I`ll starting a Powerlifting Program or Strength Program like SS, Wendler 531, Greyskull LP, Candito or something like that.

My goals are strength and aesthetics. Not a Powerlifting competition and i dont want to be a really powerlifter but i want to get strong with a good look.

What would you recommend?

zubda345
11-18-14, 5:31 am
Training with heavy weights. (As heavy as u can)
Rep range 5-8 reps.
Low rest periods.
EATING LIKE A MOTHERFUCKER!

BENCH. SQUATS. DEADS. And then more of all 3 of them.

Embee
11-18-14, 9:41 am
First of all, welcome to the FORVM!

Starting Strength is definitely something I'd recommend if you're looking to gain strength as a relative beginner or even an intermediate.
For many people this is what starts their journey into strength training and powerlifting.
I've done Starting Strength as well for quite a while and made some great progress, both in strength and mass.

I've also looked into your other suggestions and my first pick would be the lineair program by Jonnie Candito, the Power/Hypertrophy programme to be precise.
In my opinion programme keeps it simple and has you working on both strength and hypertrophy.

It's easy to get overwhelmed by all the choices in programmes out there, but just pick one you like or makes sense to you and stick to it for a good while (atleast three months?).
Don't be afraid to opt for one of the programmes for beginners, because in my opinion it takes a lot of hours to consider yourself an intermediate or an expert.
Being a beginner has its upsides though, as the progress will be relatively fast.
You can always get into the more complicated programmes later on, but for now, 'keep it simple' would be my advice.