PDA

View Full Version : Universal vs Animal: Question for Universal Rep or naturalguy

GunRock
12-18-14, 4:15 pm
I know that this is a topic that's been beaten to death but please bear with me. One of the athletes I train is a GNC employee and we're always talking about what various supplements do because her supplement knowledge is all self taught(GNC doesn't teach employees about supplements). We were discussing Animal and Universal and we both ended up with some unanswered questions. I've always thought of the relationship between Universal, Animal, Tone ‘N Tighten and Universal Naturals as sort of like the relationship between Muscle & Fitness, Flex, M&F Hers and Men's Fitness. I based that upon what I've seen on the Forvm and reading articles like this one: http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/supp-of-the-month-universal.html

But I also thought it was cool that the company didn't try to reinvent the wheel. Basically, if Universal sold a product that Animal didn't we just used the Universal product and vice versa. Now I'm seeing a little more duplication i.e. UniVite - Animal Pak, Animal Whey - Universal Whey, Shock Therapy- Animal Pump/Rage XL Stack, Juiced Aminos-Atomic 7, Animal Nitro-Amino 2700/Amino 2250/Amino 1000 etc.

I'm not asking for a long explanation of the company's marketing strategy (I'd be surprised if you guys told me anyway) but is it that Animal stuff is intended to be the "stronger more intense" version of what Universal sells? I know I use Pak exclusively when I'm in meet prep and if I'm training on less sleep while I'm more inclined to use UniVite if I'm well rested and going through my normal training. So again, is it that Animal stuff is intended to be the "stronger more intense" version of what Universal sells and where do Universal Naturals and Tone ‘N Tighten fit in the mix?

Cellardweller
12-18-14, 5:24 pm