PDA

View Full Version : A Call For Help From My Fellow Animals

GunRock
12-20-14, 12:41 am
I originally posted this in Thoughts but I really wanted it to be seen by more people so for once I'm posting something twice. sorry if you read it already.
Anyway on to the point.

I train an eighth grade girl who has had a pretty rough go of it. I don't know all of the details but she used to live with her mother and that wasn't a great situation, now she's living with her dad and her stepmom. I started training her stepbrother and met her because after his mom saw what I do, she decided that this girl needed my help. Anyway, her first workout I decided to see what she was made of, Stepmom said she had a bit of an attitude and refused to do homework. Ok. Day 1 you're going to flip tires up and down my driveway just to see if you quit on me and yourself. Bottom line she stuck it out and has made steady progress. Iron bug has bitten her.

Still, I'm interested in the whole person when I train someone so I got in her business about grades and found out that she was failing classes because she refused to turn in homework. After a little digging, I found that in her previous school they stuck her in special needs classes because she didn't understand the material but no one took the time to teach her anything. Now that she's in a new school system, she's drowning. I promised to help her parents find her a tutor if she wouldn't quit on herself. So she comes everyday now. Two days a week to train her body and three days a week to be tutored by my sons who are in high school.
I've also been working with her on her study habits and general attitude and today as everyone headed into the Christmas break, we had a ceremony in my firepit where she burned all of the homework assignments, tests and quizzes she got zeros on for failing to complete them. She's got a new attitude and I'd appreciate it if everyone would just like the video on Instagram and say some encouraging words to her.