PDA

View Full Version : Shut Up and Train

AlphaLifterJeffDowns
03-21-15, 11:31 pm
I am not an elite powerlifter.I don't go to a powerlifting gym. I'm in the army and I go to the one on post. I'm a real amateur in that sense of powerlifting with a 1035 total at 196lbs. I use to be really into going to a gym and seeing the environment and it motivating me even more then before I got there. But nowa days all I see is people doing a set and taking selfies in the mirror. or having there buddy record them for a set of 5 at 135lbs and posting it on their social media. I feel like I need to get a squat rack and bench And lift in my dungeon of a basement. Cuz the gym is apparently a place to socialize and not train.

Machine
03-23-15, 10:28 am
I am not an elite powerlifter.I don't go to a powerlifting gym. I'm in the army and I go to the one on post. I'm a real amateur in that sense of powerlifting with a 1035 total at 196lbs. I use to be really into going to a gym and seeing the environment and it motivating me even more then before I got there. But nowa days all I see is people doing a set and taking selfies in the mirror. or having there buddy record them for a set of 5 at 135lbs and posting it on their social media. I feel like I need to get a squat rack and bench And lift in my dungeon of a basement. Cuz the gym is apparently a place to socialize and not train.

Your comments are spot on; you need to remember you're not alone. We're not going to go home; let them fucking go home. You must enter the gym on post with new zeal, religious fervor, and a renewed sense of purpose. Fads pass, your a soldier, you know how to soldier on through the thorns...and make them fucking choke on it. Sharpen your battle plan; don't let anyone get in the way of executing that battle plan in the gym; you will exert maximum effort in every training session.