PDA

View Full Version : My Iron Saga: Road to Elite

Ethan Dew
04-05-15, 9:17 am
So after following the FORVM for awhile and being able to have the opportunity to work in The Cage this year at the Arnold, I figured it was about time I shared my own journey. I first started lifting weights in the 7th grade for my football team. It was twice a week, and a very unorganized training program. That got me from 7th grade through high school. I thought I was strong then, but what I didn't realize was that there was so much more to learn. I knew nothing about nutrition, how the body works, how to construct a good program, anything like that. Thankfully when I graduated high school, I got lucky enough to start training with a buddy of mine who is on his way to getting certified as a Strength and Conditioning Coach, and the rest is history. When I started training seriously, my numbers were pretty frail for being about 250 bw at the time. Squat was approximately 315 for 3, bench around 205 for 3 and deadlift about 365.

Fast forward about three years. I'm in my third year at Virginia Tech as an Engineering student and I've been training seriously for about three years, and I had my first powerlifting meet just about a year ago. Once my technique started to get better, my lifts started flying up. Since last spring, I've done one single lift meet (my first one, dead only) and three full meets. My total has progressed from my first meet, 1455, to 1510, to most recently 1609 at my last meet via 601/352/655 raw no wraps at the USPA Strong Box Pro/Am in Charleston WV. I've done one meet in the 275 class and the other meets at 308.