PDA

View Full Version : Why did you start?

ANARCHY
01-17-16, 4:38 am
Growing up I was very overweight. I can remember very vividly how almost everyday in school kids would make fun of me because of my weight, and after school how kids would chase me on their bikes and whoop my ass for the way i looked. I came home with cuts and bruises but I hid them from my folks. I felt that they had already had enough to worry about in life to worry about their kid getting beat up because of his weight.

The teasing and the emotional destruction carried on into high school, I was a 220lb freshman. I decided to join the football team because I thought it would help me loose weight which it did. The funny thing about it was you would think that I would find some sort of stress relieve and therapy on the football field, but in reality I found my peace in the gym. Everyday after practice i stayed just a few more extra hours to work out, and it was there where i was at home. The cold iron pressing up against my palms, the echoes of my grunts running through empty space, That old rust smell that we gym rats love so much. I was instantly hooked. Feeling the blood rush into my arms after curls and seeing myself in the mirror during these workouts made me feel like a fucking super hero, and not like the fat ass that I was. So as the years progressed I kept coming back to the gym to relive this self righteous experience within myself. Today I am 20 years old and 202lbs lean, and it is all because i needed to find an emotional outlet.

Why did you all start lifting?

C.Coronato
01-18-16, 10:11 am
My pops brought me when I was young. not really any other reason than he was going, so my brother and I went with him. I got bit by the iron bug and never stopped.

G Diesel
01-18-16, 10:19 am
Started with the idea in mind of getting stronger, faster, being able to jump higher (and look better in my jersey) for basketball as a teenager.