PDA

View Full Version : Increase Dips

AlexMunn
01-19-16, 12:40 pm
Hi I'm very new to dips, never done them before but I thought i should do them because all of the people in the powerlifting community I look up too do them. I've started already and I'm wanting to focus more on the triceps and front delts whilst doing them, to really help my bench press. What would be the most effective way on getting stronger in doing these? Right now I do 4 sets 8 reps because I struggle with my body weight. Any ideas? Thanks :)

Nmowery
01-19-16, 10:41 pm
First of all, just keep doing them...like most body weight exercises it takes some work to get strong at them. As soon as you can hit 10-12 reps, starting adding weight that takes you back down to 6-8 reps...then when you get back up to 12, up the weight again. I'm no badass by any means, but when I first started doing dips I had to use the machine taking 80-100 lbs off...now I'll bang out sets with 75 lbs hanging off me.

That said, it's not really possible to emphasize both the delts and tris at the same time...if you want more chest and delt activation, lean your torso forward, and flare your elbows out at the bottom. This is usually my preferred technique, simply because my triceps tend to be my strong point anyways.

If you wanna hit the back arms harder, keep upright with elbows tucked in.

AlexMunn
01-20-16, 4:33 am
First of all, just keep doing them...like most body weight exercises it takes some work to get strong at them. As soon as you can hit 10-12 reps, starting adding weight that takes you back down to 6-8 reps...then when you get back up to 12, up the weight again. I'm no badass by any means, but when I first started doing dips I had to use the machine taking 80-100 lbs off...now I'll bang out sets with 75 lbs hanging off me.