PDA

View Full Version : AM Workouts

Kingslayer
08-09-16, 7:02 pm
I'm sure this topic has been done before. Just wanted to get your guys thoughts on AM workouts. I'm talking 5AM or 6AM before the work grind.

I work out in a bullshit commercial gym and it's impossible to get in a good one between 12-3 and then 6-9 so I've decided to completely shock my body and start getting up before the sun.

When do yall typically workout? And has it benefited you?

Appleton.Cory
08-10-16, 8:13 am
I get up at 4am every day and do my first workout. I'm usually done around 6am. Then I hit a smaller workout in the afternoon around 4pm when I get home. I also workout in my own garage gym, though.

I've been working out in the morning like this for about 4 years. If I miss a day, I feel terrible throughout the day. But morning workouts definitely put you in a better mood for the rest of the day.

I think the best thing anyone can do is hit the gym hard early in the morning.

BCent
08-10-16, 1:23 pm
Honestly I've done it both ways based on my work schedule. While I "prefer" to train later in the day, once you get used to the AM workouts, there's something kinda nice about knowing you accomplished more in your day than most people will in their whole day...

physlift314
08-10-16, 1:40 pm
From what I can remember, your rated perceived effort (RPE) is higher for morning workouts than evening workouts. I imagine that as you get used to them, that balance flips but I'm not entirely sure. If you're used to PM workouts and switch to AM workouts, just keep in mind that it may be the time switch that seems to cause difficulty. A 300lb squat will be perceived as easier in the PM than in the AM initially and that might be discouraging. You can likely get around this initially by upping your preworkout dosage a bit to give you some extra umph in the beginning and tapering it off as you get used to it. Just something to be aware of.