PDA

View Full Version : Powerlifting programming

swoleberry
03-11-18, 9:51 am
What's up everybody, another question as my new journey into powerlifting continues.
I have about 6-7 years experience in bodybuilding style programming, but I'm only about 3 months into powerlifting.
Should I be using a program such as Starting Strength or similar since I'm new to powerlifting or am I good to roll on into intermediate-advanced programs given my previous training experience?

Gooners85
03-11-18, 11:37 pm
Starting Strength is meant for rank novices, as in someone who doesn't even lift and wants to start lifting.

It doesn't work well for powerlifting, but it wasn't written for powerlifting, despite being recommended on online forums.

It would still behoove you to begin powerlifting-specific programming with some sort of novice-style linear progression. The "novice" programs that provide simple linear progression will provide by far the fastest gains. While you can take advantage of that stage, milk it for all it's worth. Now, depending how far along on your journey, how strong you are, what kind of work capacity you've built up, will determine how long a simple LP will keep working before you have to look towards early-intermediate and onto late-intermediate programs.

swoleberry
03-12-18, 9:30 am
Starting Strength is meant for rank novices, as in someone who doesn't even lift and wants to start lifting.

It doesn't work well for powerlifting, but it wasn't written for powerlifting, despite being recommended on online forums.